A closer look into our country’s marriage laws

Weddings! Whether it’s a family member, a friend or a total stranger, weddings happen all the time. I never really thought about marriage before, until I found out more about the legal age to marry in the United States.

Without parental consent, you need to be at least 18 years old in 48 of the 50 states to get married. However, the laws for how old you have to be to get married with a parent’s consent vary from state to state. in New Hampshire, the ages at which you may get married with parental consent are 14 for males and 13 for females and in Kansas and Massachusetts, the age for marriage with consent is 14 for males and 12 for females.

Parties may marry with consent by reason of pregnancy or the birth of a child even if they are underage in: Arkansas, Delaware, Indiana, Missouri, New Jersey, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, and West Virginia. Also, parties in California, Colorado, and Louisiana, may get married at any age with parental consent. While in Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wyoming you may get married if you are under the age of 16 if and only if you have both parental and judicial consent.

In Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin, and the District of Columbia, you may get married with parental consent at age 16 or older.In Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin, and the District of Columbia, you may get married with parental consent at age 16 or older.In Hawaii, parties may get married at the age of 15 with parental consent and/or the consent of a judge. Parental consent is needed in Alabama and Utah at age 14, and in Nebraska and Oregon, the age is 17.Nebraska, where the marriage age is 19, and Mississippi where the marriage age is 21. But in general the legal age to marry in the United States is 18 without parental consent and 16 with parental consent.

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Educating students for more than 200 years.